Home | About | Donate

'What the Future Can Look Like': Study Shows US Switch to 100% Renewables Can Save Billions and the Planet, Too

Originally published at http://www.commondreams.org/news/2020/10/22/what-future-can-look-study-shows-us-switch-100-renewables-can-save-billions-and

Nobody is going to see that $1,050-$2,585 a year savings unless we keep renewables out of the hands of corporate control.

7 Likes

True… and agreed.

3 Likes

Buy your own, Go off grid
It’s basically plug and play now
Not like the old days
I studied and passed my NABCEP at 62
Seriously plug and play
And you get to say GOODBYE to your utility company
That one alone is TOO MUCH FUN

4 Likes

“what the future can look like if we are motivated to make it so.”
Yes.
On top of all that was mentioned in the article are the savings the average homeowner might see in his home insurance as the hurricane destruction caused by the effect fossil fuel combustion has is lessened. The seas would regain the dying coral on their reefs and more fish would live there to be harvested, And threatening coastal waters would retreat as more water would be reabsorbed as ice as it was prior to the age of oil.

2 Likes

I agree, but most won’t have that option (still a large out of pocket expense), and there are some states that protect the power companies by making it hard to do, or illegal all to gather.

4 Likes

Southeastern US states’ gubmits go so far as to allow utilities to charge customers for the cost nuke plants that are still under construction.

I’ve got a 10kW solar installation and I love it!. Grid tied though as batteries are still too expensive to get adequate capacity to run things (like AC here in Florida). 10kw , if you do it yourself, is around $15-20K with another $10-15K for batteries if you want to go off-grid with modern conveniences. The solar PV panels will last for 20-30 years but plan on replacing your batteries and inverters every 10-12 years.

4 Likes