Home | About | Donate

Why Don’t Americans Want to ‘Soak the Rich’? It’s a Trick Question

Why Don’t Americans Want to ‘Soak the Rich’? It’s a Trick Question

Jim Naureckas

The New York Times (4/17/15) has a post by Neil Irwin headlined “Why Americans Don’t Want to Soak the Rich.” Irwin suggests a couple of different answers to this question, depending on your ideological point of view:

Don't tax you, don't tax me, tax the rich and set us free.

The ruling class understands that culture shapes thought. Much money goes in to corrupting our culture from music to movies to literature with ruling class perspectives causing many to identify with the 1%. Being a poet and writer I publish progressive working class literature via Partisan Press & the Blue Collar Review. We all have to do our part to reclaim our more authentic culture of community and solidarity whether through music, literature, cinema and by building real community around us. We cannot move beyond this nightmare empire with our minds poisoned by corporate worship of money, violence and anti-social hyper-individualism

With only 2% of Americans who voted in 2012 casting their votes for six highly qualified third party candidates, none of whom are owned by the wealthy, it is apparent that few Americans really want progressive reform needed to make the wealthy pay their share.

It doesn't matter how Americans respond to polls when 98% of those who actually vote cast their vote for candidates owned by the wealthy.

Can we fairly say that they don't want it or that they don't understand what they must do to achieve it?

mcp

Would it be more effective to tax the rich or to start lynching them?

There was no change in late 18th-century France until the people resorted to the Guillotine.

Just sayin'.

mcp

'Towards the Common Good': Mr. Sanders Goes to the Vatican