Home | About | Donate

Why I Still Have Hope In The American Dream That Failed Me

Why I Still Have Hope In The American Dream That Failed Me

Jeffrey Sterling

I am in a federal prison in Colorado. While here, I have read Ta-Nahesi Coates’ award-winning book Between the World and Me. Though my background is different from Coates’ (I did not grow up in the mean streets of a large city), I enjoyed reading Between the World and Me because I identify with so much of it. It is also those commonalities which make it rather difficult for me to read. Between the World and Me serves as a reminder and a warning.

As a white man, i never believed in "the American Dream." Somehow early in my life i came to believe that - as important and meaningful as the words and lives and struggles of so many surely are, from some of the "founding fathers" through all the fights for liberation which have never ended - this society and economy were built on genocide, slavery, looting, war and ecocide, and the driving forces of patriarchy, white supremacy, human superiority and greed not only continued, but by many key measures were accelerating.

By the time Jimmy Carter was elected in 1976, it seemed clear to me that for all the good achieved by movements for racial integration, women's liberation, environment and anti-war (movements that were all underway in my earliest years), nothing was going to turn this culture off the road to total ruin. Reagan's election in 1980 was no surprise to me, confirming the failure of "the '60s" movements to turn society off the road to ruin.

The acceleration toward complete planetary and human disaster continues today, and we can all taste it. Now the entire world is dis-integrating, society and ecology. It's hard for me to understand how anyone can imagine any "American Dream," while the real America plays its continuing lead role in omnicide and civilizational collapse.

Spying while black

“And your very flesh shall be a great poem.”
― Walt Whitman