Home | About | Donate

Why This Is the Year of the Anti-Corporate Presidential Campaign

Why This Is the Year of the Anti-Corporate Presidential Campaign

David Korten

A recently released study by four leading economists of voting in U.S. congressional races uncovered an important pattern. According to a New York Times report on the study, “Areas hardest hit by trade shocks were much more likely to move to the far right or the far left politically.” Job losses, especially to China, the authors noted, lead voters to strongly favor either Donald Trump or Bernie Sanders.

It seems the punditry has a difficult time calling a corporatist a corporatist at least when it is Hillary in the middle. Trump is the wild card anti status quo on the right and Sanders who started it all is the unquestioned anti status quo from the left but Hillary in the middle is the status quo who wants to be thought of as the anti status quo from the status quo? The status quo middle who wants to change things by keeping them the same? That is Hillary. The stay the same candidate.

How does that work? Does anyone believe that Hillary represents change when she is the very status quo that people want to change? Yet saying this fact seems so hard to do for pundits. Hillary represents the status quo yet they bend over backward to make her seem like she will change things by staying the same. Reality. She constantly hews close to Obama so what is she supposed to be changing by the way?

Oh right ... I forgot. Its the gender. Its the surface - the appearance of the candidate like Obama was change that was only skin deep, Hillary is change that is gender deep but otherwise preserves the status quo.

They've dumbed us down and won't let us rise above it. No real changes allowed.

Democracy be damned, the people are undone by oligarchy. The game is lost.

Sorrow will follow
The choice was not ours
Since when was it ever this obvious
That the same would not change