Home | About | Donate

Why This Nuclear Engineer Says Every Nuke Plant in the US Should Be Shut Down Yesterday

Why This Nuclear Engineer Says Every Nuke Plant in the US Should Be Shut Down Yesterday

Karl Grossman

The good—the very good—energy news is that the Indian Point nuclear power plants 26 miles north of New York City will be closed in the next few years under an agreement reached between New York State and the plants’ owner, Entergy.

Like all of its systems and its violence, the right wing is 100% suicidal in its
destructiveness.

Notice -- there isn't even a mention of the WASTE coming from the 100 nuclear
power plants the US has had --

and there are another 500+ internationally.

And still four to five years yet to close down these two nuclear power plants so close to NYC.

We now know exactly how the Germans came under the control of Hitler and Nazis -
we're reliving it.

Hi ignignokt4u.

As an energy engineer, I understand the high standards of safety involved with nuclear plant operation. High levels of safety are not, as a practice, implemented with respect to Uranium mining and processing. I am certain that you are aware that most of the Uranium that the US uses in nuclear plants comes from abroad (Source: http://www.eia.gov/todayinenergy/detail.php?id=2150 ). The World Information Service on Energy has numerous links documenting health hazards of Uranium mining and processing abroad (Source: http://www.wise-uranium.org/uhm.html ) but even Uranium mined in the US has been linked to serious health issues (Sources: 1. http://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2016/04/10/473547227/for-the-navajo-nation-uranium-minings-deadly-legacy-lingers
2. https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/pgms/worknotify/uranium.html ).