Home | About | Donate

With US-South Korea War Games Set to Begin, North Korea Warns of 'Merciless Strike'

With US-South Korea War Games Set to Begin, North Korea Warns of 'Merciless Strike'

Jake Johnson, staff writer

With the United States and South Korea set to begin joint military exercises on Monday—and as Trump administration officials attempt to de-escalate tensions after the president threatened to bring "fire and fury" upon North Korea—the regime of Kim Jong-un published an

The US should stop its provocative, destabilizing military exercises NOW. They are not doing anything but increasing the likelihood of war.

I am a Nuclear Veteran and have seen and felt, up close and too personal, the horror that our Executive and Military treat so lightly. I’m a survivor of the tests, thousands weren’t. I recovered from my exposure, many didn’t.
*Our planet is balancing on a knife edge of pollution, war, runaway heating, population growth. A nuclear exchange might well be the end. Ask the surviving residents of Rongalap.
*All nuclear weapons must go. Nuclear power is proving to be just a slow moving bomb with spills and leaks in aging reactors, and then there is Fukushima.

I Have Seen the Dragon

I have seen the Dragon
Through clenched lids and arms pressed tight.
I have felt its hot breath on my back
And listened to the rumble of its voice.

I have looked upon its breath,
Glowing Amethyst, red and purple,
Climbing towards the stratosphere
To deposit its venom downwind.

I have waited in fear as my gums began to bleed
And my hair came out in clumps.
I breathed a prayer of thanks
As I began to heal.

After fifty years, our ranks are thin,
We who have seen the Dragon and survived.
Those who have died or are sickened still,
Their numbers are legion.

All we can hope for, work for, pray for,
Is that no madman will ever be allowed
To unleash the Dragon again.
For its legacy to all is death, disease and decay.

© Stephen M. Osborn
2 November 2006