Home | About | Donate

Without Urgent Action, Study Warns, Climate Crisis Could Kill as Many People as All Infectious Diseases Combined by 2100

Originally published at http://www.commondreams.org/news/2020/08/04/without-urgent-action-study-warns-climate-crisis-could-kill-many-people-all

2 Likes

This risk is preventable! We need the political will to stop it!

Only if we find some way to eliminate the corporate greed that owns the political will.

3 Likes

Bolsonaro they look like tiny mud flaps.

I’m no climate scientist, but some that I have followed say that we will likely all be extinct long before 2100. And if some are still alive by then, they will wish they were dead. And I have been seeing these same headlines about needing urgent action for quite a few years now and nothing has changed to reduce fossil fuel use in any meaningful manner.

3 Likes

It’s not just the fossil fuels TTofB.

Why isn’t the ‘News’ following the daily or at least weekly/monthly graphs on climate crisis? Why isn’t the ‘News’ showing and talking about the increase in deaths due to pollution!!! Could it be because capitalism is a false promise and the capitalists don’t want their bubble to be popped? Hmm! “No Time Left For You …”

How humans drive speciation as well as extinction
~https://royalsocietypublishing.org/doi/full/10.1098/rspb.2016.0600

The antidote is knowledge which is sorely lacking in the general population.
What to do?

• Nothing will change until people are in the street demanding that their elected representatives take the steps necessary to combat climate change. It isn’t ‘rocket science’ folks. The fossil fuel companies have been lying to us for decades. Climate change is real and people have been the main driver of that change.